Our History

Serving Christ in Huntsville for Over 175 Years

First United Methodist Church of Huntsville has a rich history. Two historical markers can be found on the church grounds. A Texas Historical Commission subject marker depicts the history of the church and a marker placed by the City of Huntsville indicates that a notable hostelry and stagecoach stop was established near this site in 1850. The first congregation of Methodists in this vicinity dates from the early 1830s when Methodists gathered at what is now known as Martha’s Chapel located ten miles southwest of town. In 1842, at a meeting of the Texas Conference in Bastrop, Huntsville was listed as a new charge. Deed records from 1854 indicate the purchase of a lot on Jackson Street (the present location of First United Methodist Church). The first building was erected in 1857. This building was torn away and replaced by a larger one in 1888.
A fire destroyed additions to the building and did much damage to the sanctuary and the pipe organ. A new and larger building was constructed in its place and was completed in 1913. Six years later, on February 25, 1918, this building, along with the memorial windows, was destroyed by fire. In 1919, the present church was reconstructed largely as a duplicate of the one burned. The windows were replaced in the reconstructing of the church, and other memorial windows were added.

In 1954, an Educational Building was completed housing nursery – 5th grade. In 1972, a Social Hall was built, complete with kitchen and 10 classrooms. In 1991 a new building was completed that housed offices, classrooms, and an assembly room. Several beautiful stained-glass windows add beauty to this section.  In 2016/2017 the 1972 Social Hall was torn down and replaced by the current Community Life Center, which houses three floors for classrooms, youth ministries, updated kitchen and large worship and gathering room.  The first worship service in the new CLC building was on December 3, 2017.
Many beautiful gifts have been presented to the church through the years. Among these are the magnificent stained glass memorial windows. The pulpit furniture and pipe organ were presented to the church in 1913. The church is blessed to have one of only a few sets of Deagan Tower Chimes left in Texas, installed in 1934.

While we have an impressive and historically significant facility with beautiful stained glass windows and a marvelous pipe organ, it is the spirit of service and ministry which springs from inside these walls that is truly our historic value. Its rich history is only enhanced by its ministry in the 21st century where lives are transformed and many are served with the love and grace of Jesus Christ. We invite you to come Gather to worship, Grow in faith and Go to serve with us at First United Methodist Church.